Seven alternative programs recognized for exemplary work

In an effort to recognize the work of educators and programs that serve at-risk students, the Kentucky Department of Education named seven Alternative Programs of Distinction.

Virtual Town Hall meeting on education scheduled for June 7

Kentucky Education Commissioner Stephen Pruitt will host a virtual Town Hall Meeting at 6:30 p.m. ET Tuesday, June 7, to gather feedback from Kentuckians on how they define school success.

KCSS releases new report on principals’ perspective on bullying

A new report from the Kentucky Center for School Safety – "Addressing Bullying Incidents in Kentucky Schools: A Principal’s Perspective" – examines the issues surrounding bullying in schools from the perspective of Kentucky principals and assistant principals .

Gov. Bevin announces new Kentucky Board of Education appointees

Gov. Matt Bevin announced five new members to the Kentucky Board of Education. The board is comprised of 12 members, each serving four-year terms.

Kentucky School for the Blind to present Langan Distinguished Service Awards

The Kentucky School for the Blind will present Paul J. Langan Distinguished Service Awards to Kenneth W. Jones and Larry V. Mann at May 13 during the school’s 174th Founder’s Day Program.

Flood, Givens honored with Stilwell Award

The Kentucky Department of Education recognized Rep. Kelly Flood and Sen. David Givens with the 2015-16 Stilwell Award for their personal dedication to and support of education technology.

Kentucky Department of Education unveils new logo

Today Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt unveiled a new logo and motto for the Kentucky Department of Education.

New Teacher Impact Grants program to fund promising practices

Through the new Teacher Impact Grants program from ASCD, teachers will be able to develop, expand and evaluate promising practices and programs that can transform the academic trajectory of students.

Kentucky schools named national Green Ribbon winners

Eastern Elementary School (Scott County) and Russell Cave Elementary School (Fayette County) were named 2016 U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools.

Students to compete in technology state championship

More than 8,000 students, educators and parents will converge on Lexington for the ninth annual Student Technology Leadership Program State Championship on Friday, April 22.