Three custodians are finalists for KASA’s Fred Award


Three school custodians have been named as finalists for the 2019 Fred Award presented by the Kentucky Association of School Administrators (KASA):

  • Russell Harrison, a custodian at Bevins Elementary (Pike County)
  • Michael Johnson, a custodian at Burlington Elementary (Boone County)
  • Angela Shoemaker, a custodian at Muhlenberg South Middle School (Muhlenberg County)

The award will be presented July 19 at KASA’s Annual Leadership Institute and Expo in Louisville. The winner will receive $500; other finalists receive $250 each.

Inspired by Fred Shea, the subject of Mark Sanborn’s bestseller, “The Fred Factor,” the award honors critical non-administrative staff members who often aren’t recognized. It recognizes an individual who exudes a Fred-like spirit of service, innovation and commitment to others, positively influencing and impacting the lives of those in the school community.