Four administrators receive awards from KASA


Four Kentucky educators were recognized by the Kentucky Association of School Administrators (KASA) at its Annual Leadership Institute last month in Louisville:

  • Rachel Crider, principal at Allen Elementary School (Floyd County), was named school-level Administrator of the Year.
  • Jamie Howard, district instructional coordinator for Metcalfe County schools, was named district-level Administrator of the Year.
  • Jennifer Godbey, Family Resource and Youth Services Center coordinator for Casey County schools, received the Distinguished Service Award. The award is presented to a retired or retiring educator who demonstrated an outstanding level of commitment to both KASA and public education.
  • Whitney Wilson, principal at Simons Middle School (Fleming County), received the Tomorrow’s Leader Scholarship. She receives $3,000 to apply toward tuition as she pursues superintendent certification from Eastern Kentucky University.

In addition, Elaine Farris, a retired teacher and administrator, received the Power of One Award. The award honors an influential and inspirational role model whose willingness to create important and meaningful change has made an impact on schools, districts and KASA. Farris became the first black superintendent in Kentucky in 2004 in Shelby County, and she later served as deputy commissioner at the Kentucky Department of Education.