Ag Athletes of the Year recognized by KHSAA, Department of Agriculture


Five Kentucky public high school student-athletes involved in agriculture have been named the 2020 Ag Athletes of the Year by the Kentucky High School Athletic Association and the Kentucky Department of Agriculture.

Ellie McGowan, a student at Crittenden County High School is one of two student-athletes named Outstanding Ag Athletes of the Year. She will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

Four student-athletes were named Ag Athletes of the Year and will receive $1,000 scholarships:

  • Marisa Brown, Menifee County High School
  • Konnor Mason, South Warren High School (Warren County)
  • Abigail Mattingly, Washington County High School
  • Sherman Moran, Mason County High School

Ninety student-athletes, 54 females and 36 males, applied for the 2020 Ag Athlete Awards. The one-time scholarships are awarded to high school seniors involved in athletics and agriculture who plan on continuing their education at a two- or four-year postsecondary institution or trade school.

The scholarships are supported by the “Ag Tag” Fund, which is financed by voluntary donations from Kentucky motorists when they buy or renew farm vehicle license plates.