Six districts recognized among Best Communities for Music Education


Six Kentucky school districts have been honored with the Best Communities for Music Education designation from the NAMM Foundation for their outstanding commitment to music education and efforts to assure access to music for all students as part of a well-rounded education.

The six districts are among 754 in the United States to receive the designation from the foundation, the philanthropic arm of the National Association of Music Merchants.

The districts are:

  • Bowling Green Independent
  • Clark County
  • Jessamine County
  • Owensboro Independent
  • Paducah Independent
  • Russell Independent

To qualify for the award, districts answered detailed questions about funding, graduation requirements, music class participation, instruction time, facilities and support for music programs. Responses were verified with school officials and reviewed by The Music Research Institute at the University of Kansas.