U.S. Presidential Scholars Program announces semifinalists


Six Kentucky public high school students have been named semifinalists in the 2020 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program.

The students are among 621 semifinalists for the program, which was established in 1964 to recognize and honor some of the nation’s most distinguished graduating seniors. Up to 161 students are chosen annually as U.S. Presidential Scholars; the 2020 class will be announced in May.

Presidential Scholars are chosen on the basis of their accomplishments in many areas – academic and artistic success, accomplishment in career and technical fields, leadership and involvement in school and the community. The semifinalists were chosen from more than 5,600 students who were identified as candidates in this program.

Here are the semifinalists from Kentucky public schools, who were among nine semifinalists from the state:

Semifinalists for U.S. Presidential Scholar

  • Kathleen Criner, Paducah Tilghman High School (Paducah Independent)
  • Andrew Katz, Paducah Tilghman High School (Paducah Independent)
  • Elif Ozyurekoglu, duPont Manual High School (Jefferson County)
  • Raymond Micheal Suo, duPont Manual High School (Jefferson County)
  • Clinton Chase Whitt, Morgan County High School

Semifinalist for U.S. Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education

  • Megan Rose Johnston, Boyle County High School