KWLA seeking nominations for 2021 World Language Teaching Awards


The Kentucky World Language Association (KWLA) is seeking nominations for its annual awards. The awards include:

  • Outstanding Teacher of the Year
    • Recognizes an individual of the world language teaching profession who hasThis is the Kentucky World Language Association logo. demonstrated long-term achievement and service to the profession. Candidates for this award are those who have been named as Teacher of the Year by the executive boards of the Kentucky chapters of each professional language teaching organizations. In Kentucky, there currently are organizations for Spanish, French, German, Chinese, Japanese and K-8.
  • Outstanding Rising Star Teacher
    • Recognizes a teacher with no more than five years of experience (both in the U.S. and/or internationally) who already has made a significant impact on their students by exhibiting best practices to an uncommonly high degree.
  • Outstanding Administrator
    • Recognizes a school administrator who has demonstrated exemplary support of world language learning and teaching at his/her institution, community or in the state.
  • Lifetime Achievement
    • Recognizes a person whose lifelong career in the world language teaching profession has made a vast and immeasurable difference on the lives of their students, parents, communities and colleagues.
  • Amici Linguarum – or “Friend of Languages”
    • Recognizes individuals and/or organizations – who may or may not be involved in the realm of education –that are not directly involved in the teaching of world languages, for their significant contributions to the profession.

The deadline for nominations is 11:59 p.m. ET June 30. Winners will be announced at the association’s annual conference in September.

Founded in 1974, the Kentucky World Language Association is dedicated to the improvement and expansion of the teaching and learning of all languages at all levels of instruction. The KWLA Awards Program was designed to further advance the group’s mission to better serve the world language teachers and students of Kentucky.

The winner of the Outstanding Teacher Award will advance to the regional competition, sponsored by the Southern Conference on Language Teaching (SCOLT). The person who wins at SCOLT will advance to the national competition sponsored by the American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Language (ACTFL) (), where he/she will compete against other regional winners for the ACTFL National Language Teacher of the Year Award.

For more information on the awards and the nomination process, visit the KWLA’s Awards webpage or contact the chair of the KWLA Awards Committee, Alfonso De Torres Núñez, at