Podcast series offers insights from state teachers of the year

The Northwest Evaluation Association and The Council of Chief State School Officers has released a new podcast series, “Leading from the Classroom,” in which the 2016 state teachers of the year share personal stories from the classroom. Each episode contains an individual testimonial of moments that solidified the teachers’ belief in the teaching profession. Through their stories, the speakers emphasize [...]

By |2017-01-04T11:08:57-05:00January 5, 2017|

Fayette secretary receives KASA Office Professional Award

Allison Marcum, secretary to the principal at Bryan Station High School (Fayette County), has received the 2016 Wanda Luttrell Office Professional Award, a statewide recognition from the Kentucky Association of School Administrators. This annual award, named in honor of KASA’s longtime office manager, goes to a school or district office professional who contributes significantly to the efforts of the leadership [...]

By |2016-06-22T16:41:15-04:00June 23, 2016|

Graves custodian leads roundtable discussion at RESPECT conference

Matthew Powell, the head custodian at Graves County Central Elementary School, was selected to facilitate a roundtable discussion with fellow education support professionals from across Kentucky, along with Kentucky Education Commissioner Stephen Pruitt and Kentucky Education Association President Stephanie Winkler. The event took place June 11 in Lexington at the second annual Kentucky Representing Education Support Professionals Ensuring Career-Development Training (RESPECT) [...]

By |2016-06-15T14:26:11-04:00June 16, 2016|

Preparing students to be globally competent

Education Commissioner Terry Holliday Ever since the General Assembly passed Senate Bill 1 in 2009, the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) has strongly supported the addition of world language to the state accountability model. On June 4, the board took action to do so approving implementation of the World Language Program Review for high schools in 2014-15 with [...]

By |2020-01-28T10:44:59-05:00June 17, 2014|
Go to Top