Friday, July 30, 2021
Picture of a smiling woman in a suit.

Paducah paraeducator named 2021 Educational Support Professional of the Year

Chiffon Winston, a paraeducator who teaches digital literacy to 1st- through 5th-graders at McNabb Elementary (Paducah Independent), has been awarded the 2021 Educational Support Professional of the Year Award presented by the Kentucky Education Association (KEA).

Two Fayette County school resource officers receive recognition for service

Two Fayette County Public Schools (FCPS) school resource officers (SROs) have been selected by the Kentucky Association of School Resource Officers (KYASRO) to receive awards for their exemplary service.

Knott County senior receives Freedom Writers Foundation writing award

Breanna Parks, a senior at Knott County Central High School, received an award from the Freedom Writers Foundation of Long Beach, Calif. As part of the award, she will be included as a student author in an upcoming book set to be released in spring 2022.
Picture of a smiling woman.

KDE’s Lynn McGowan-McNear named winner of the Walter R. Gattis Jr. Award

Lynn McGowan-McNear, the Kentucky Department of Education's resource management director, has received the Walter R. Gattis Jr. Award.

KASA names finalists for 2021 Fred Award

The Kentucky Association of School Administrators (KASA) named its finalists for the 2021 Fred Award.

Tina Haggard receives KASA Office Professional Award

Tina Haggard, the school office administrator for The Academy for Leadership at Millcreek Elementary (Fayette County), received the 2021 Kentucky Association of School Administrators (KASA) Office Professional Award.
Picture of a young woman.

Pulaski County senior chosen as Educators Rising national vice president

Educators Rising Kentucky is proud to announce that one of their own student leaders has been selected to serve as the national vice president of programs for Educators Rising for the 2021-2022 school year.
Picture of a smiling woman.

Fayette County teacher chosen as NASA Airborne Astronomy Ambassador

Jenny McCall, an 8th-grade integrated science teacher at Winburn Middle School (Fayette County), was selected as a 2021 NASA Airborne Astronomy Ambassador (AAA).

Four Kentucky schools get award for healthy family engagement

Four Kentucky public schools, already among the state’s 45 winners of the America’s Healthiest Schools designation by the Alliance for a Healthier Generation, have won the additional honor of the first-ever Family Engagement Distinction presented by Kohl’s Healthy at Home.

Kentucky schools get awards for women’s computer science access

Twenty-two Kentucky schools are being recognized by the College Board for expanding young women’s access to computer science in 2020.