Thursday, June 22, 2017

Pruitt to testify before Congressional committee on ESSA implementation; public input sought on regulations

Kentucky Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt will testify before the U.S. House Committee on Education and the Workforce in Washington, D.C., on June 23, 2016.
Children enjoy their lunch during a kickoff event for the Summer Food Service Program at Calvary Elementary School (Marion County). The program will provide more than 2 million breakfasts, lunches and snacks this summer to more than 20,000 Kentucky children who might not otherwise have access to nutritious meals when school is not in session. Photo by Mike Marsee, June 14, 2016

Summer Food Service Program celebrated

The Kentucky Summer Food Service Program is once again making sure students’ stomachs are full even when classrooms are empty.

New members join Kentucky Board of Education; meeting focuses on accountability

Five new members assumed their seats on the Kentucky Board of Education June 8.

Seven alternative programs recognized for exemplary work

In an effort to recognize the work of educators and programs that serve at-risk students, the Kentucky Department of Education named seven Alternative Programs of Distinction.

Virtual Town Hall meeting on education scheduled for June 7

Kentucky Education Commissioner Stephen Pruitt will host a virtual Town Hall Meeting at 6:30 p.m. ET Tuesday, June 7, to gather feedback from Kentuckians on how they define school success.

KCSS releases new report on principals’ perspective on bullying

A new report from the Kentucky Center for School Safety – "Addressing Bullying Incidents in Kentucky Schools: A Principal’s Perspective" – examines the issues surrounding bullying in schools from the perspective of Kentucky principals and assistant principals .

Gov. Bevin announces new Kentucky Board of Education appointees

Gov. Matt Bevin announced five new members to the Kentucky Board of Education. The board is comprised of 12 members, each serving four-year terms.

Kentucky School for the Blind to present Langan Distinguished Service Awards

The Kentucky School for the Blind will present Paul J. Langan Distinguished Service Awards to Kenneth W. Jones and Larry V. Mann at May 13 during the school’s 174th Founder’s Day Program.

Flood, Givens honored with Stilwell Award

The Kentucky Department of Education recognized Rep. Kelly Flood and Sen. David Givens with the 2015-16 Stilwell Award for their personal dedication to and support of education technology.

Kentucky Department of Education unveils new logo

Today Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt unveiled a new logo and motto for the Kentucky Department of Education.