In response to Kentucky’s submission request, the United States Department of Education has designated the following areas as teacher shortage areas during the 2014-15 school year.

World Languages

Career and Technical Education                                


  • English, middle school
  • English, high school
  • English as a Second Language


  • mathematics, middle school
  • mathematics, high school    

Social Studies                      

  • social studies, middle school
  • social studies, high school


  • general science, middle school
  • general science, high school
  • biology, secondary
  • chemistry, high school
  • earth science
  • physics

Exceptional Children                          

  • emotional-behavior disorder
  • functional mental disorder
  • learning behavior disorder
  • hearing impaired
  • visually impaired

If educators have any of the following loans or are involved with any of the following programs, they may be eligible for some assistance.

  • Federal Family Education Loan /Federal Stafford Program
  • Federal Perkins Loan
  • Teacher Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (TEACH) Grant
  • Paul Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program

Federal Stafford/Supplemental Loan for Students borrowers who have questions concerning their loans, including the teacher shortage area deferment, can contact the Federal Student Aid Hotline at toll-free (800) 4FED-AID (433-3243) or the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA) at toll-free (800) 928-8926. Federal Perkins Loan borrowers should contact the schools were they received the loans; TEACH grant recipients can refer to their granting colleges or universities. Stafford and Perkins program information may be found at: