Five new teachers will join the 2014-15 cohort of Hope Street Group Kentucky State Teacher Fellows. They will work alongside 16 other teachers who embarked on the fellowship last August.

In their first year, the teacher fellows collected data from their peers to inform the implementation of the Professional Growth and Effectiveness System (PGES). Fellows will gather data this year to help guide implementation of PGES and identify what supports Kentucky teachers need to fully implement the system.

“Data received last year made a dramatic impact on the finalization of the system, as well as provided much-needed supports during the legislative session,” said Brian Bishop, Hope Street Group’s Kentucky mobilization and education director.

“The Kentucky Department of Education and Hope Street Group share a common commitment – to engage teachers at every level,” said Kentucky Education Commissioner Terry Holliday. “Hope Street Group’s work in Kentucky supports and reinforces our strategic work around educator effectiveness. More effective teaching means improved student outcomes ensuring that all of our students graduate from high school college- and career-ready.”

The five new Kentucky State Teacher Fellows are:

  • Kimberly Creekmore – District mathematics coach, Whitley County
  • Ryan Mann – Reading and social studies teacher, Scott County
  • Sherri McPherson – High school English/language arts teacher, Fayette County
  • Robin Thacker – High school chemistry and AP biology teacher, Henderson County
  • Carrie Wedding– 5th- and 6th-grade special education teacher, Owensboro Independent.