Lisa Hanson, a National Board Certified elementary teacher in Scott County, was named a recipient of the NEA Foundation’s 2023 California Casualty Awards for Teaching Excellence.

The California Casualty awardees, selected by their NEA affiliates, represent educators from across the country who embody excellence in their practice, advocacy for the profession, commitment to equity and opportunity, community engagement and leadership in professional development.

The NEA Foundation is a national philanthropic organization committed to promoting the absolute best in public education. The Foundation invests in educators’ leadership, shared learning and collaboration; supports partnerships and initiatives that strengthen public education; and promotes improvements in public education policy and practice.

The awardees will be honored at the NEA Foundation Salute to Excellence in Education on May 5, 2023, at The Anthem in Washington, DC.

Five of the awardees nominated by NEA’s state affiliates will be chosen as finalists for the top national award and receive $10,000. The educator selected for the top award will be revealed at the NEA Foundation Salute to Excellence in Education and receive $25,000. The Salute to Excellence in Education also will be live-streamed.

The Awards for Teaching Excellence program recognizes educators from around the country who promote both excellence in teaching and advocacy for the profession. Educators are honored through three types of awards – California Casualty Awards, Horace Mann Awards, and the NEA Member Benefits Award.

From the pool of California Casualty awardees, five are chosen as Horace Mann awardees, and one is selected as the NEA Member Benefits awardee.

Hanson was previously named the Kentucky Education Association’s (KEA) 2022 Teacher of the Year. She has been a KEA member and taught in Scott County for more than 20 years. She also served as a GoTeach KY Ambassador for the commonwealth in 2021.

Find more information about the award on the NEA Foundation Award webpage, as well as a gallery of this year’s awardees.