Schools in eastern and western Kentucky may request funding for arts in education programs through the Delta Dental Making Smiles Happen Arts in Education Initiative.

The program, which provided enriching arts experiences for 17,500 students in eastern Kentucky and Jefferson County in its first year, has been expanded to provide arts in education programs for an estimated 10,000 additional students in 26 eastern and 34 western Kentucky counties.

Up to $90,000 is available to eligible schools, and there is no restriction on the number of applications that may be submitted or the funding amount requested per school. Funds may be used to cover costs including program costs, bus costs for field trips and mileage and travel expenses incurred by arts groups traveling to and from schools.

Schools in these counties may apply:

  • Eastern Kentucky – Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Laurel, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe
  • Western Kentucky – Allen, Ballard, Barren, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Edmonson, Fulton, Graves, Hancock, Hart, Henderson, Hickman, Hopkins, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken, McLean, Metcalfe, Monroe, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Simpson, Todd, Trigg, Union, Warren and Webster

The application deadline is Dec. 12. Click here for more information or to apply.