The National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI), a non-profit organization for improving American students’ mathematics and science achievement, recently honored 23 Advanced Placement (AP) teachers as the 2011 All American Teachers of the Year.

Kentucky teachers honored were:

  • Amiee Cantrell-Webb, English , Johnson Central High School (Johnson County)
  • Brian Sullivan, calculus, Henderson County High School
  • Carlos Verdecchia, biology, Bryan Station High School (Fayette County)

The awards, which recognize outstanding mathematics, science and English teachers for remarkable contributions to their students and to the teaching profession, are presented to teachers participating in NMSI’s Advanced Placement Training and Incentive Program (APTIP). The award winners receive a cash award, and each teacher will be recognized at a special awards luncheon in Washington, D.C., on May 26.
For more information, contact Rena Pederson at (214) 665-2523 or Joanne Lang at (859) 576-3282. Go to for more information about AdvanceKentucky.