A Fayette County science lab teacher was honored at the district’s “Sowing the Seeds of Sustainability” recognition program last month. Julie Jones of Russell Cave Elementary School was recognized for her extraordinary environmental leadership at the year-end program celebrating green and environmental initiatives.

The program also included recognition of Russell Cave as a National Green Ribbon School and of Morton Middle School as a model for Kentucky Green & Healthy Schools.

In addition, Kentucky American Water Co. presented its Excellence in Water Education prizes to Bryan Station High School, Henry Clay High School, Leestown Middle School, Sandersville Elementary School and Northern Elementary School, and Live Green Lexington congratulated its partner schools for recycling, waste-reduction and litter-abatement efforts, water-quality education and energy conservation.