Sixteen Kentucky schools have been named winners of the National Healthy Schools Award by the Alliance for a Healthier Generation.

The awards were announced recently by the Alliance for a Healthier Generation, a national organization founded by the American Heart Association and the Clinton Foundation whose goal is to reduce the prevalence of childhood obesity and to empower children to develop lifelong, healthy habits.

The 328 schools honored nationally meet or exceed stringent standards set by the Alliance’s Healthy Schools Program for serving healthier meals and snacks, getting students moving more, offering high-quality physical and health education and empowering school leaders to become healthy role models.

Award-winning schools are serving as best-in-class examples of a nationwide movement to create healthier environments for kids. All recognized schools:

  • meet or exceed updated federal nutrition standards for school meals.
  • offer school breakfast to their students every day.
  • meet or exceed snack and beverage requirements for the federal Smart Snacks in School standards.
  • implement district wellness policies and report progress annually.
  • provide students with at least 60 minutes of physical education per week and ensure activity throughout the school day.

All 16 Kentucky schools recognized received bronze awards. Those recognized are:

  • Apollo High School (Daviess County)
  • College View Middle School (Daviess County)
  • Hopkins County Central High School
  • Howevalley Elementary School (Hardin County)
  • Lyon County Elementary School
  • Richardsville Elementary School (Warren County)
  • Sinking Fork Elementary School (Christian County)
  • Sorgho Elementary School (Daviess County)
  • South Marshall Elementary School (Marshall County)
  • Southwest Calloway Elementary School (Calloway County)
  • Sturgis Elementary School (Union County)
  • Talton K. Stone Middle School (Elizabethtown Independent)
  • Trigg County High School
  • Union County High School
  • Vine Grove Elementary School (Hardin County)
  • Whitesville Elementary School (Daviess County)