Four Kentucky mathematics and science teachers are among 213 recipients of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST), which is awarded to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. Winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators following an initial selection process at the state level.

The PAEMST winners from Kentucky are:

Grades K-6

(2014 winners)

  • Vivian Bowles, science, Kit Carson Elementary School (Madison County)
  • Gina Kimery, mathematics, Farmer Elementary School (Jefferson County)

Grades 7-12

(2015 winners)

Winners receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation and are invited to Washington for a Sept. 8 awards ceremony, as well educational and celebratory events and visits with members of President Barack Obama’s administration.

The award is part of the Obama administration’s efforts to strengthen education in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) fields.

Six finalists also have been named for the 2016 awards:


  • Shannon Brickler, Dry Ridge Elementary School (Grant County)
  • Caryn Smith, Hunter Hills Elementary School (Laurel County)
  • Tonda Thompson, Albany Elementary School (Clinton County)


  • Natasha Craft, Pulaski Elementary School (Pulaski County)
  • Jennifer Sheffield, 212 Degrees Academy (Warren County)
  • Karen Vanmetre, Grayson County Middle School

Each nomination year, the award alternates between teachers in grades K-6 and those in grades 7-12. The awardees named represent two nomination years, one from each cohort.

Nominate an outstanding secondary teacher, grades 7-12 in mathematics or science (including computer science) in the fall of even numbered years.

Nominate an outstanding elementary teacher, grades K-6 in mathematics or science (including computer science) in the fall of odd numbered years.

Nominations are open to public and private school teachers. Nominated teachers must have no less than five complete years of full-time teaching experience before the nomination year. The deadline for nominations is April 1 of the following year and applications are due by May 1.

Click here for eligibility and to access the online nomination form.