The Central Kentucky Educational Cooperative (CKEC) has recognized four Fayette County teachers for their excellence in co-teaching.

Third-grade teacher Cara Harris and special education teacher Molly Anderson of Breckinridge Elementary School, and science teacher Kevin Crosby and special education teacher Erica Beegle of Tates Creek High School were named the CKEC Fayette County 2016-17 Outstanding Educators.

The teams were selected last year by their principals to participate in the first cohort of Fayette County’s co-teaching initiative, which is led by the district’s special education department. In order for co-teaching to flourish, the two people must share the responsibility for planning, instruction and a systems approach to improvement.