Twenty-two Kentucky schools are being recognized by the College Board for expanding young women’s access to computer science in 2020.

The College Board offers the AP Computer Science Female Diversity Award in two categories, the AP Computer Science A (AP CSA) and AP Computer Science Principles (AP CSP), to the roughly 20,000 schools that offer AP courses. This year 1,119 schools were recognized for their work toward equal gender representation during the 2019-2020 school year.

Four Kentucky schools received the AP CSA Award:

  • Boyd County High School
  • George Rogers Clark High School (Clark County)
  • Harrison County High School
  • Valley High School (Jefferson County)

Fourteen of Kentucky’s public schools received the AP CSP Award:

  • Anderson County High School
  • Belfry High School (Pike County)
  • Bryan Station High School (Fayette County)
  • Clinton County High School
  • Frederick Douglass High School (Fayette County)
  • Henderson County High School
  • Knott County Central High School
  • Menifee County High School
  • Metcalfe County High School
  • Model Laboratory School (Eastern Kentucky University – Madison County)
  • North Bullitt High School
  • North Laurel High School
  • Phoenix School of Discovery (Jefferson County)
  • Western Hills High School (Franklin County)