Two Fayette County Public Schools (FCPS) school resource officers (SROs) have been selected by the Kentucky Association of School Resource Officers (KYASRO) to receive awards for their exemplary service.

Eileen Welch, who retired in May 2021 after 35 years of service in FCPS, was named the 2021 Kentucky SRO of the Year. FCPS Police Officer Myron Pedroche was named the Central Kentucky Region SRO of the Year. They will receive their awards during KYASRO’s conference in July.

Welch, who is the first woman to receive Kentucky SRO of the Year, previously received the Lexington Rotary Club Service Over Self Award in 2019.

“She has spent countless personal time and money mentoring and guiding the students at Henry Clay High School,” said FCPS Police Chief Martin Schafer. “She will be missed, but her impact on students and our school district will remain for many years.”

Pedroche has served at Paul Laurence Dunbar High School since 2015 and also serves several elementary schools in the district.