Tuesday, October 20, 2020

AdvanceKentucky teachers honored

The National Math and Science Initiative (NMSI), a non-profit organization for improving American students’ mathematics and science achievement, recently honored 23 Advanced Placement (AP)...

Simpson County school district receives Best Place to Work honor

The Simpson County school district was honored recently at the seventh annual Best Places to Work in Kentucky awards ceremony. For the second straight...

KSB to honor Scouts, award winner

The Kentucky School for the Blind (KSB) honored the 100th anniversary of KSB Boy Scout Troop 10 and presented the prestigious Paul J. Langan...

KESPT Dream Out Loud winners announced

Nine Kentucky students have each won $1,500 college savings accounts with the Kentucky Education Savings Plan Trust (KESPT) through the KESPT Dream Out Loud...

Franklin County school receives Biofuels for School Grant

The Franklin County Career and Technical Center (FCCTC) is the recipient of the 2011 Kentucky Biofuels for Schools grant program, made possible by the...

Twenty-five Kentucky schools earn Project Lead The Way funding

The Kentucky Department of Education has announced that the review process for the 2011 Project Lead The Way grants has been completed. The awards listed...

Breakfast week spirit contest winners announced

Three Kentucky school districts were recognized recently for their participation in a Spirit Contest hosted by the Kentucky Department of Education’s Division of School...

Highlands High School is state We the People champion

Highlands High School (Fort Thomas Independent) has won the state championship in the We the People…The Citizen and the Constitution civic education competition and will compete for the national title from April 30-May 2.
Belfry Middle School (Pike County) has been selected as a 2010 Blue Ribbon Lighthouse School of Excellence. Photo submitted

Middle school receives national award

Belfry Middle School (Pike County) was recently recognized as a as a 2010 Blue Ribbon Lighthouse School of Excellence by the Blue Ribbon Schools of Excellence, Inc. Belfry Middle is the first public middle school in Kentucky to receive the award. Representatives from the school recently traveled to Orlando to receive the award.

Science teacher wins contest

Karen Witemyre, a science teacher at Ockerman Middle School (Boone County) was recently named a winner of the Great Science Teacher Video Contest at...