Three educators have been selected for the Gov. Louie B. Nunn Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame.

The three chosen by a statewide selection committee are the late Artie Johnson Hankins, Patricia J. Morris and Deidra Hylton Patton.

They will be inducted during a ceremony March 1 at the Capitol in Frankfort.

The Kentucky Teacher Hall of Fame was created in 2000 through a gift by former Gov. Nunn, who hoped to recognize the vital role that primary and secondary teachers in Kentucky play in the education of young people and the positive impact education has on the state’s economy.


Artie Johnson Hankins

Hankins, a native of the Big Hill community, taught in the Butler County school district for 44 years. Between 1933 and 1954, she taught at rural one-room schools at Limestone, Youngtown, Greenwood, Science Hill, Big Muddy and Hickory Stand. From 1954 to 1977, she taught third grade at Morgantown Elementary School.

In addition to her teaching career, Hankins was active in professional organizations and was a member of the Butler County Retired Teachers Association.

Hankins died in March 2010.



Patricia J. Morris

Morris, a native of Louisville, has taught history for 30 years.  Since 1986, she has taught American history and Advanced Placement classes at Ballard High School (Jefferson County).

Morris is known for making history fascinating for students by using various creative projects. Among her awards and recognitions are the 2009 Organization of American Historians Tachau Teacher of the Year Award, the 2004 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award for Kentucky and 1999 Kentucky High School Teacher of the Year.



Deidra Hylton Patton

Patton, a native of Hazard who grew up in Hindman, has been a teacher for 28 years.

Since 1999, Patton has been gifted and talented coordinator for the Boyd County school district and K-5 gifted education teacher at Cannonsburg Elementary School.

Her awards include a 2008 Ashland Teacher Achievement Award and the Alice Lloyd College Elementary Education Award. Patton also received her National Board Certification in 2003.

Sam Evans,, (270) 745-4662