Forty-eight Kentucky school principals will receive executive-level leadership training as participants in an institute being created and funded by the state’s business community through the Kentucky Chamber Foundation.

The principals were chosen for pilot classes (two groups of 24 each) of the Leadership Institute for School Principals that will begin this summer at the nationally recognized Center for Creative Leadership in Greensboro (CCL), N.C., and continue with follow-up sessions in the fall and early next year in Kentucky. CCL is a top-ranked global provider of executive education founded in 1970 that established an education and nonprofit section in 1988. Many Kentucky corporations use CCL to provide training for their executives.

Elementary, middle and high school principals from across Kentucky representing both public and private schools applied for the institute; participants were selected by a committee of an advisory board made up of business leaders and school superintendents. The institute is being supported by the AT&T Foundation and numerous local businesses across the state.

The participating principals will attend at no cost to themselves. Tuition and hotel costs will be paid by the Kentucky Chamber Foundation, and each participant will receive a stipend to cover travel and meals.

Principals attending the institute are:

Thomas Aberli, Atherton High (Jefferson County)

Timothy Adams, Heath Elementary (McCracken County)

Erica Arnette, Middlesboro Primary (Middlesboro Independent)

Deanna Ashby, Madisonville North Hopkins High (Hopkins County)

Nathaniel Bordeaux, Boyle County Middle

Erika Bowles, Longbranch Elementary (Boone County)

Jay Brewer, Ruth Moyer Elementary (Fort Thomas Independent)

Eddy Bushelman, South Warren Middle (Warren County)

Rob Carroll, South Heights Elementary (Henderson County)

Christy Coulter, Bullitt Central High (Bullitt County)

Jason Creekmore, McCreary County Middle (McCreary County)

Jennifer Crume, College View Middle (Daviess County)

Jason Detre, The New Haven (a nonpublic school)

Rebecca Elswerky, St. John School (a nonpublic school)

Kevin Estes, Ballard County Middle

Brian Gardner, A.B. Chandler Elementary (Henderson County)

Caroline Graves, Brodhead Elementary (Rockcastle County)

Barbara Harris, Stonestreet Elementary (Jefferson County)

Melinda Hendley, North Calloway Elementary (Calloway County)

Michael Horne, Russell Middle (Russell Independent)

Jonathan Hoskins, Westside Elementary (Harrison County)

Deborah Howes, Rowan County High

Casey Jaynes, Logan County High

Christi Jefferds, Piner Elementary (Kenton County)

Jeffrey Jennings, Butler County Middle

Lana Kaelin, Eastern High (Jefferson County)

Joel Katte, Meadowthorpe Elementary (Fayette County)

Jennifer Kendall, Leestown Middle (Fayette County)

Jason Kupchella, Briarwood Elementary (Warren County)

Kevin Lowe, Meadow Lands Elementary (Daviess County)

Laura McGray, North Middle (Hardin County)

James Meding, East Bernstadt Elementary and Middle (East Bernstadt Independent)

Matt Mercer, Belfry Middle (Pike County)

Kristi Miller, Trigg County Middle

Danny Osborne, Owen County High

Floyd Patrick, Southern Elementary (Pulaski County)

Allen Poynter, Memorial Elementary (Hart County)

Marci Prater, Catlettsburg Elementary (Boyd County)

Jonathan Reid, Heath High School (McCracken County)

Robert Rowe, Covington Catholic High School (a nonpublic school)

Michael Rowe, Pikeville High School (Pikeville Independent)

Steven Rucker, Heritage Elementary (Shelby County)

Angela Taylor, Fannie Bush Elementary (Clark County)

Karen Thomas, Christ the King School (a nonpublic school)

Amy Waggoner, Marshall County High

Angela Welsh, North Metcalfe Elementary (Metcalfe County)

Darlene Young, Kingston Elementary (Madison County)

Daniel Zoeller, Trinity High (a nonpublic school)