The Kentucky School Boards Association (KSBA) is accepting nominations for local board members interested in running for a seat on the association’s 27-member board of directors.

Five director-at-large seats will be filled by election during the business session of the 2012 KSBA Annual Conference, Feb. 4.

The five positions currently are held by the following people, all of whom are eligible to seek either re-election or election (for appointees filling vacancies):

  • Linda Duncan, Jefferson County
  • Eugene Peel, Jessamine County
  • Jeff Eaton, Allen County
  • Catina Hasty, Rockcastle County
  • Eddie Cornett, Paintsville Independent

The seats held by Duncan, Peel, Eaton and Hasty are for three-year terms, while Cornett’s seat will be filled for the final year of the unexpired term.

In keeping with the association’s bylaws, any Kentucky school board member can place his or her name before the committee by completing and submitting the attached form by Sept. 23. Nomination forms may be sent by mail, fax or e-mail per the instructions on the form.

A nominating committee appointed by President Tom Blankenship of Lincoln County and chaired by Immediate Past President Delmar Mahan of Whitley County will report back to the membership with its recommendations in November.

For more information about the nominating process or about service on the board of directors, contact Bill Scott, Kathy Amburgey or Brad Hughes toll-free at (800) 372-2962.