Forward in the Fifth is looking for an educator, parent, student, community leader or school staff member who is leading the way in their home community and region to advance education.

Forward in the Fifth, a nonprofit organization and affiliate of the Center for Rural Development in Somerset, is accepting nominations for this year’s AppLE Awards.

The AppLE Awards – which stands for Appalachian Leaders in Education – celebrate excellence in education by honoring professional educators and supporters in 42 counties within Forward in the Fifth’s primary service region.

Nominations forms for Forward in the Fifth’s 2012 AppLE Awards will be accepted through March 31 in four award categories:

  • educators, professional and support staff
  • community leaders or business/community organizations
  • parents or parent groups
  • students or student groups

All completed nomination forms must be e-mailed to Rhonda Lawson at

They also may be printed, completed and mailed by the March 31 deadline to Forward in the Fifth, 2292 South U.S. 27, Somerset KY, 42501. Submissions by fax or telephone will not be accepted.

Finalists will be selected in each of the four award categories and notified by Forward in the Fifth of their nomination. Award winners will be announced in during a special event this May.

Nominations will be accepted within Forward in the Fifth’s 42-county primary service area, which includes the counties of Adair, Bath, Bell, Breathitt, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Estill, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Harlan, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Rowan, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley and Wolfe.

A detailed description of each of the four 2012 AppLE Awards, eligibility requirements and nomination forms can be downloaded online from For more information on the AppLE Awards, contact Executive Director Jim Tackett at (606) 677-6000 or e-mail