More than 6,000 students, educators and parents gathered at the seventh annual Student Technology Leadership Program (STLP) State Championship on March 22 at Rupp Arena and the Lexington Convention Center.

P-12 students from across the state showed what they know and can do with technology in arts, STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) and many marketable career skills by participating in 42 different STLP learning categories.

The event empowers students to use technology to problem-solve, create content, learn and achieve. Thousands of adults supported this 21st-century learning event as chaperones, mentors and judges.

Out of nearly 500 projects, three schools were named Best in State in Project Showcase. The three schools will attend the International Society of Technology Education (ISTE) Conference in San Diego, Calif., June 23-26, representing STLP as Student Showcases.

Best in State

  • Oakview Elementary (Ashland Independent)
  • James E Bazzell Middle (Allen County)
  • Woodford County High

Showcase Project Runners-Up

  • Hager Elementary (Ashland Independent)
  • Simmons Elementary (Woodford County)
  • Temple Hill Elementary (Barren County)
  • Lone Oak Middle (McCracken County)
  • South Warren Middle (Warren County)
  • Bowling Green High (Bowling Green Independent)
  • West Jessamine High (Jessamine County)

Kenny Franks of Shelby County and Phillip Napier of Barren County were named as the first STLP Hall of Fame inductees. Both are alumni of STLP and have continued to mentor and shape the program at local and state levels.

State STLP Coordinator Elaine Harrison Lane received the first annual Lydia Wells Sledge MVP Award from Kentucky Department of Education Associate Commissioner David Couch. The late Lydia Wells Sledge was instrumental in establishing STLP and helped create the foundation for education technology throughout Kentucky’s school districts.

STLP is a project-based learning program that empowers students in all grade levels to use technology to learn and achieve. It was established in 1994 by the STLP State Advisory Council, which is composed of teachers, students and community leaders. The program is open to all students in all grade levels in every school  in Kentucky.