Three Kentucky public schools were among 78 nationwide named U.S. Department of Education (USED) Green Ribbon Schools.

The three are:

  • Rosa Parks Elementary, Fayette Co.
  • Georgetown Middle, Scott Co.
  • Richardsville Elementary, Warren Co.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, along with White House Council on Environmental Quality Chair Nancy Sutley and Environmental Protection Agency Administrator Lisa Jackson, announced the list of first-ever U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools on Monday.

U.S. Department of Education Green Ribbon Schools is a federal recognition program that opened in September 2011. Honored schools exercise a comprehensive approach to creating “green” environments through reducing environmental impact, promoting health and ensuring a high-quality environmental and outdoor education to prepare students with the 21st-century skills and sustainability concepts needed in the growing global economy.

The 78 awarded schools were named winners from among nearly 100 nominees submitted by 30 state education agencies, the District of Columbia and the Bureau of Indian Education. More than 350 schools completed applications to their state education agencies.

The U.S. Department of Education’s “Green Ribbons” are one-year recognition awards. Next year’s competition will open in summer 2012.

 More information about USED’s Green Ribbon Schools program can be found here.