Twelve Kentucky schools were recently recognized for their efforts to lower energy costs by improving efficiencies in their buildings.

Each school earned an “ENERGY STAR” designation, part of a federal program that identifies education institutions that are among the top 5 percent in the nation for energy efficiency.

The ENERGY STAR-designated schools recognized are:

  • Overdale Elementary (Bullitt County)
  • James A Caywood Elementary and Turkey Foot Middle (Kenton County)
  • Flaherty Primary (Meade County)
  • Foster Heights Elementary (Nelson County)
  • East Middle (Shelby County)
  • Milton Elementary (Trimble County)
  • Cumberland Trace, Oakland, Plano and Richardsville elementaries, and Warren East Middle (Warren County)

The newly announced 12 schools bring the number of Kentucky’s ENERGY STAR school buildings to 160. The number has more than doubled over the last two years.

 For more information on ENERGY STAR see