The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) and Kentucky Department of Education recognized eight school districts as Districts of Distinction at the board’s meeting Wednesday.

The districts earned the recognition under the first year of the Unbridled Learning: College and Career Readiness for All accountability system. To qualify as a District of Distinction, a district had to have an overall accountability score at the 95th percentile or higher (based on achievement, gap, growth, college and career readiness and graduation rate), meet its current year Annual Measurable Objective, a 95 percent participation rate, and not have a Focus or Priority School in the district. The achievement data is based on K-PREP testing in spring 2012.

 The Districts of Distinction for the 2011-12 school year are:

  • Anchorage Independent
  • Beechwood Independent
  • Boyle County
  • Corbin Independent
  • Ft. Thomas Independent
  • Murray Independent
  • Pikeville Independent
  • Walton-Verona Independent

KBE board Chair David Karem and Education Commissioner Terry Holliday presented each district superintendent and local board of education chair with a recognition banner and letter of commendation. Each district will also receive a District of Distinction logo which it can display on its website, letterhead or use in other ways to promote its achievement.