Gov. Steve Beshear recently made several appointments to education-related boards and commissions.

Debra Katie Bentley, a community support coordinator at NorthKey Community Care, and Anita C. Dowd, an executive staff adviser at the Kentucky Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, were appointed to the Kentucky State Advisory Panel for Exceptional Children.

Beshear also reappointed the following members to the panel:

  • Martha Slemp is a corrections education branch manager at the Department of Corrections.
  • Connie Pohlgeers is director of school improvement for the Campbell County school district.
  • Brent E. Merritt is a high school music teacher and choral director for Scott County school district.
  • Jaclyn Risden-Smith is director of special education for the Spencer County school district.

Gov. Beshear also appointed Bennie Ivory, the former executive editor of the Courier-Journal, to the Governor’s Scholar Program Board of Directors.

Additionally, Daphne Todd Hosinski, a pediatrician at Pediatric and Adolescent Associates, was appointed to the Kentucky Early Childhood Advisory Council. She  will serve for the remainder of the unexpired term ending June 30, 2014.