Gov. Steve Beshear has made appointments to two education-related boards.

The governor appointed nine new members to the School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council (SCAAC). The 17-member council advises the Kentucky Board of Education on the design of the testing and accountability system.

​The new members are:

  • Shannon Treece, of New Castle, is principal at Eminence Middle and High School. She represents principals.
  • Anthony Orr, of Bardstown, is superintendent of Nelson County Schools. He represents superintendents.

  • Catherine Anne Hacker, of Salt Lick, is a psychologist and district assessment coordinator for the Menifee County Board of Education. She represents school district assessment coordinators.
  • Kevin Riddett, of Louisville, is CEO of freight and rail products at Siemens Rail Automation. He represents employers in the state.
  • Helen M. Carroll, of Florence, is manager of community relations at Toyota. She represents employers in the state.
  • Heather K. Wampler, of Louisville, is an administrative assistant at Paint Spot. She represents parents.
  • Thomas Anthony Aberli, of Louisville, is principal at Atherton High School. He represents principals.
  • Amanda Reed, of Elizabethtown, is assistant superintendent of the LaRue County Board of Education. She represents school district assessment coordinators.

Beshear also reappointed the following members to the council:

  • Holly Bloodworth, of Murray, is a teacher for Murray Independent Schools. She represents teachers.
  • Thomas R. Guskey, of Lexington, is a professor at the University of Kentucky. He represents university professors with expertise in assessment and measurement.
  • Terry L. Rhodes, of Mount Sterling, is a teacher at Montgomery County High School. She represents teachers.
  • Linda D. Duncan, of Louisville, is a member of the Jefferson County Board of Education and is retired from Jefferson County Public Schools. She represents local school board members.
  • Roger C. Cleveland, of Lexington, is an associate professor at Eastern Kentucky University. He represents university professors with expertise in assessment and measurement.
  • Brenda H. McGown, of Bowling Green, is a UniServ director for the Kentucky Education Association. She represents members at large.
  • Michael J. Borchers, of Covington, is superintendent for Ludlow Independent Schools. He represents superintendents.
  • Lisa S. Holland, of Lexington, is owner of Holland Management Services Inc. She represents parents.
  • William A. Owens, of Beattyville, is mission director and minister at Kentucky Mountain Mission Inc. and is chairman of the Lee County Board of Education. He represents school board members.

All will serve terms ending April 30, 2016.

Beshear also appointed Tatiana Y. Adams to the Kentucky Advisory Council for Gifted and Talented Education to serve for the remainder of an unexpired term ending Dec. 15, 2016.

Adams, of Benton, is director of gifted services for the Marshall County Board of Education. She represents gifted and talented program coordinators.