The U.S. Department of Education (USED) has awarded grants to three Kentucky school districts to support counseling programs in elementary and secondary schools.

More than $14.7 million was awarded  to 40 school districts in 20 states, USED announced Thursday.

Campbell County was the only district in the nation to receive two grants, which totaled $722, 261. Erlanger-Elsmere Independent will get $397, 480, and Woodford County schools will receive $343,941.

The new awards will aid schools in hiring qualified mental-health professionals with the goal of expanding the range, availability, quantity and quality of counseling services.