(Frankfort, KY) – Eight Kentucky public school districts have been named to the 7th Annual Advanced Placement (AP) Honor Roll, the College Board announced.

The districts are among 433 public and private districts in the U.S. and Canada that have shown a commitment to expanding access to AP coursework while also improving student performance.

The Kentucky public school districts recognized include:

  • Boyd County
  • Campbellsville Independent
  • Daviess County
  • Dawson Springs Independent
  • Fort Thomas Independent
  • Livingston County
  • Muhlenberg County
  • Pulaski County

Inclusion on the AP District Honor Roll is based on three years of AP data (2014-16) during which a district must:

  • increase participation/access to AP by at least 4 percent in large districts; at least 6 percent in medium districts; and at least 11 percent in small districts
  • increase or maintain the percentages of exams taken by African American, Hispanic/Latino and American Indian/Alaska Native students
  • improve performance levels when comparing the percentage of students in 2016 scoring a 3 or higher to those in 2014, unless the district has already attained a performance level at which more than 70 percent of its AP students are scoring a 3 or higher.

Ft. Thomas Independent and Pulaski County public schools have been on the AP District Honor Roll in prior years.

College Board offers more than 30 AP courses, each of which connects directly to a wide variety of college majors and careers.

The complete 7th Annual AP District Honor Roll can be found here.