Graphic reading: 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Teacher Achievement Award WinnersThe Kentucky Department of Education and Valvoline Inc. have selected 24 outstanding Kentucky educators as recipients of the 2022 Valvoline™ Teacher Achievement Awards (TAA). These teachers qualify to compete for the 2022 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced in September.

“We are honored to celebrate some of Kentucky’s most outstanding educators who have exhibited extraordinary resilience during this past year,” said Sam Mitchell, Valvoline’s chief executive officer. “Despite the difficulties they faced during a global pandemic, Kentucky’s teachers have continued to place their focus on educational excellence—and this year’s award winners exemplified this priority. Valvoline is pleased to celebrate and recognize these outstanding teachers.”   

The 24 winning teachers are:

Elementary School

  • Lauren Coffey, W.R. McNeill Elementary (Bowling Green Independent)
  • Kandi Dawson, Murray Elementary (Murray Independent)
  • Nick Harris, Madison Kindergarten Academy (Madison County)
  • Cindy Hundley, Gutermuth Elementary (Jefferson County)
  • Miranda Newland, Campbell Elementary (Raceland-Worthington Independent)
  • Jamie Reagan, Bell Elementary (Wayne County)
  • Ashley Ritchie, Beechwood Elementary (Beechwood Independent)
  • Anna Schneider, Pleasant Grove Elementary (Bullitt County)

Middle School

  • Hallie Booth, Ballyshannon Middle (Boone County)
  • Troy Chafin, Woodford County Middle
  • Heather Dipasquale, Todd County Middle
  • Jason Hand, Stuart Academy (Jefferson County)
  • Jo Anne Pennington, Conner Middle (Boone County)
  • Morgan Preston, Corbin Middle (Corbin Independent)
  • Steffanie Skiles, McKell Middle (Greenup County)
  • Judy Trunnell, College View Middle (Daviess County)

High School

  • Margaret Lynn Brewer, Great Crossing High (Scott County)
  • Jodie Carnes, Lynn Camp School (Knox County)
  • Willie Edward Taylor Carver Jr., Montgomery County High
  • Jessica Gels, Rise Academy (Boone County)
  • Matthew Haynes, Southern High (Jefferson County)
  • Jennifer Howard, Russellville High (Russellville Independent)
  • Aaron Klausing, Owensboro High (Owensboro Independent)
  • Jennifer Sims, Hart County High

“Teachers across Kentucky have done a tremendous job keeping learning going for our students now more than ever,” said Kentucky Commissioner of Education Jason E. Glass. “On behalf of the Kentucky Department of Education, I congratulate these award-winning educators. Their work is hard, humbling, exhilarating and challenging. Every day they step up to the plate to make a difference in the lives of our children.”

All 24 teachers will be honored during a virtual event on Sept. 9. At that time, the Kentucky Elementary, Middle and High School Teachers of the Year will be announced. From this group of three finalists, the Kentucky Teacher of the Year will be named and will represent the state in the National Teacher of the Year competition.

Valvoline will provide the 24 recipients with cash awards. In addition, the three Kentucky Teachers of the Year will receive custom-designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments.

Judging was conducted in May by a blue-ribbon panel of veteran educators, many of whom have more than 25 years of teaching experience. Applications included information on the nominees’ teaching philosophies, teaching experiences and involvement in their respective communities, as well as letters of recommendation from peers, students, parents, administrators and others.

Valvoline, an independent, publicly traded company with its world headquarters in Lexington, is a proud sponsor of the Teacher Achievement Awards and the Kentucky Teacher of the Year programs. 


About Valvoline™

Valvoline Inc. (NYSE: VVV) is a leading worldwide marketer and supplier of premium branded lubricants and automotive services, with sales in more than 140 countries. Established in 1866, the company’s heritage spans more than 150 years, during which time it has developed powerful brand recognition across multiple product and service channels. Valvoline ranks as the No. 3 passenger car motor oil brand in the DIY market by volume. It operates and franchises approximately 1,400 quick-lube locations, and it is the No. 2 chain by number of stores in the United States under the Valvoline Instant Oil ChangeSM brand and the No. 3 chain by number of stores in Canada under the Valvoline Great Canadian Oil Change brand. It also markets Valvoline lubricants and automotive chemicals, including the Valvoline High Mileage with MaxLife technology motor oil for engines over 75,000 miles; Valvoline Advanced Full Synthetic motor oil; Valvoline Premium Blue™ heavy-duty motor oil; Valvoline Multi-Vehicle Automatic Transmission Fluid; and Zerex™ antifreeze. To learn more, visit