2024 Teresa Perry Compassion Award Nomination Deadline May 15, 2024(FRANKFORT, KY) – The Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) is accepting nominations for the 2024 Teresa Perry Compassion Award.

The award is given each year to a KDE employee who exhibits integrity and is committed to assisting others, focuses on delivering excellent customer service for the department, is knowledgeable and productive, and shows compassion for others in the work they do.

The award is named in honor of the late Teresa Perry, who served at KDE as executive secretary to the commissioner of education. For more than 33 years, Perry worked tirelessly for the Commonwealth of Kentucky, the KDE, each school district and Kentucky’s children. She provided outstanding customer service to internal and external audiences and provided positive inspiration toward others in the day-to-day operation of the agency.

Individuals presently employed by the executive branch are eligible to be nominated. Eligible employees include all 18A classifications, merit and non-merit (associate commissioners are not eligible for this award). Eligible 18A employees must have completed the initial probationary period and be without disciplinary action within the past 12 months.

The nomination deadline is May 15. Nominations will be accepted via the 2024 Teresa Perry Compassion Award nomination form from individuals within KDE and from Kentucky educational partnerships and sources throughout the state.

The winner will be announced at the June regular meeting of the Kentucky Board of Education.

Email Anitra Williams@education.ky.gov with any questions.