Monday, July 22, 2019

Time to put assessment at forefront of our thinking

By Natalie McCutchen, Mike Stacy and Brad Clark Across the state, self-reflective teachers and supportive administrators are building communities of practice where all stakeholders are...

Peer observation helps raise our status as educators

By Ryan Mann ryan.mann@scott.kyschools.us With this year’s rollout of Kentucky’s new Teacher Professional Growth and Effectiveness System (TPGES), some of the biggest concerns I’ve heard from...

Problem-based learning and PGES

By Lindsey Childers lindsey.childers@trigg.kyschools.us Imagine a classroom that centers on discovery – a classroom that allows students to act as teachers and use the skills they...

Peer observation offers a path to growth

By Joseph Harris joseph.harris@lawrence.kyschools.us In the past few years, I’ve come to realize that peer observation is a powerful professional growth avenue for teachers, and it...
Randy Barrette

Act now to help create globally competent students

By Randy Barrette randy.barrette@menifee.kyschools.us Across the country each year, one week is set aside for International Education Week. This joint initiative of the U.S. State Department...

It comes down to trust

By Sarah Yost, NBCT Sarah.yost@jefferson.kyschools.us For two years, I’ve served my school in the hybrid role of teacher and lead teacher for English/language arts. I teach...

What happens when we connect?

By Brad Clark brad.clark@woodford.kyschools.us There are more than 42,000 teachers in the commonwealth. If 25 percent of Kentucky teachers were connected, engaged in the meaningful work...

Student voice offers valuable feedback to teachers

By Joseph Harris Joseph.harris@lawrence.kyschools.us As most Kentucky teachers know, a student voice survey is administered once a year as part of the Professional Growth and Effectiveness...

Balancing choreography and calling in the classroom

By Lee Ann Atherton leaann.atherton@mccracken.kyschools.us One Sunday night recently, I did something ridiculous for any self-respecting teacher. I went to a concert three hours away –...

How can teacher leaders respond to testing fatigue?

By Sarah Yost, NBCT sarah.yost@jefferson.kyschools.us When A Nation at Risk was published in 1983, the American education system seemed to be shaken awake from the dreamy...