KCTM seeking nominations for Ann S. Booth MESA Awards

The Kentucky Council of Teachers of Mathematics is seeking nominations for the Ann S. Booth MESA Awards for 2018. The award celebrates Kentucky educators for their outstanding work and contribution to the mathematics community.

By |2018-09-18T14:53:03-04:00September 20, 2018|

Kentuckians win Presidential Award for math, science teaching

Grant County's Shannon Brickler and Somerset Independent's Natasha Craft are among 104 educators nationwide to be recognized as winners of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

By |2022-09-27T12:21:56-04:00June 27, 2018|

Equity in mathematics

Jefferson County's Lynn Smith explains how teachers need to shift away from the traditional "do as I do" methodologies and toward collaborative and engaging activities that promote deeper learning in order to meet the college and career readiness needs of our students and prepare them for global competition.

By |2018-03-14T10:34:56-04:00March 15, 2018|

Creating community opportunities in the math classroom

Henry County's Steve Martell says getting community members into your math classroom is important to show students how math applies in the real world, but you need to ask them strategic questions to get the most out of the visit.

By |2018-02-06T08:17:23-05:00February 6, 2018|

New formative assessment lesson released

A new mathematics formative assessment lesson (FAL) has been posted to the Kentucky Department of Education’s formative assessment webpage.

By |2018-01-18T09:41:47-05:00January 18, 2018|
Go to Top