Fayette principal part of Class of National Distinguished Principals

Lynn T. Poe, the principal at Julius Marks Elementary School (Fayette County) has been recognized by the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) as part of its 2016 Class of National Distinguished Principals during National Principals Month. Poe has 13 years of experience as a principal and has spent the past three years at Julius Marks Elementary. She was [...]

By |2016-10-11T16:01:11-04:00October 13, 2016|

20 principals in executive leadership training

Twenty Kentucky public school principals have begun a year-long executive-level leadership training course usually reserved for the nation’s top CEOs. An advisory board made up of business leaders and school superintendents chose these women for the Kentucky Chamber Foundation’s Leadership Institute for School Principals: Angie Akers, Glasscock Elementary School (Marion County) Michael Anderson, Calvert City Elementary School (Marshall County) Willie [...]

By |2016-08-11T00:06:40-04:00August 11, 2016|

JCPS principal wins Milken Educator Award

Allyson Vitato, principal at Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary School (Jefferson County), celebrates receiving the Milken Educator Award during a surprise assembly at her school. At right is Milken Education Awards senior vice president Jane Foley.Photo by Amy Wallot, Jan. 15, 2015 Allyson Vitato, principal at Breckinridge-Franklin Elementary School in the Jefferson County public school district, is Kentucky’s newest recipient of [...]

By |2015-01-16T12:21:11-05:00January 15, 2015|

King receives Milken Family Foundation Award

William King, freshman class principal at Bowling Green High School (BGHS) in the Bowling Green Independent school district, was joined by state officials and former Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award winners on Wednesday. Pictured, from left: Ryan Williams (KY ’12), Ruth Sweazy (KY ’02), Field Assistant to Senator Mitch McConnell Sandra Potter (in back), Cyndi Boggs (KY ’00), [...]

By |2014-02-13T12:58:38-05:00February 13, 2014|

Kentucky Teacher Leader of the Month: Gerda Wise, principal, Kathryn Winn Elementary, Carroll County

Every morning in the Kathryn Winn Elementary School (Carroll County) gymnasium, Principal Gerda Wise leads to students in a college chant before they leave for their classrooms. “Hey, first grade. When are you going to college?” Winn asks. “We are going to college to get some knowledge in 2024,” students reply. Wise repeats the college chant for remaining grades, and [...]

By |2018-10-05T11:23:57-04:00October 4, 2012|

Finland study abroad opportunity

The Northern Kentucky University College of Education and Human Services Doctor of Education Program are offering a study abroad program that will focus on the Finnish education system. The 10-day program is scheduled for March 8-17 and will include a hands-on exploration of the school system in Helsinki. Special emphasis will be placed on the continuing education of teachers and teacher [...]

By |2012-09-05T10:23:24-04:00September 6, 2012|

Kentucky principals selected for executive leadership training

Fifty-six Kentucky school principals will receive executive-level leadership training as participants in an institute created and funded by the state’s business community through the Kentucky Chamber Foundation. The principals were chosen as the class of 2013 (two groups of 28 each) for the Leadership Institute for School Principals that will begin this summer at the nationally-recognized Center for Creative Leadership [...]

By |2012-05-15T09:37:35-04:00May 17, 2012|

Nominations sought for KSCA’s School Counselor of the Year

The Kentucky School Counselor Association (KSCA) is accepting nominations for outstanding Elementary, Middle and High School Counselor of the Year. KSCA also is taking nominations for Principal of the Year. To complete an online nomination form, go to

By |2012-01-11T09:29:37-05:00January 12, 2012|
Go to Top