The Kentucky Purple Star Award program recently honored 14 schools in Kentucky and is looking for more schools to join the initiative, which highlights schools that show dedication and support to students who have military connections.

The schools that received the designation this year:

  • Christian County: South Christian Elementary School, Sinking Fork Elementary School, Millbrooke Elementary School, Crofton Elementary School, Indian Hills Elementary School, Freedom Elementary School, Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School, Pembroke Elementary School.
  • Floyd County: Floyd Central High School
  • Franklin County: Westridge Elementary School
  • Hardin County: Woodland Elementary School
  • Jefferson County: Bates Elementary School and Chenoweth Elementary School

St. James Catholic School in Hardin County was also recognized.

In order to qualify as a Kentucky Purple Star School, schools must do three things: designate a trained point of contact to provide support for military students and families, implement one annual military recognition event at the school and post resources for military families on the school website.

Twenty-six schools have received the Kentucky Purple Star Award. For more information, including how to register for the award, visit the Kentucky Purple Star Award website or email The deadline for honors in the spring is Feb. 20.