Thirteen Kentucky public school teachers have been selected to participate in the 2016 PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators program. The program, which is in its fourth year, honors tech-savvy K-12 educators from across the country who serve as leaders in the use of educational technology and incorporation of digital media into their classrooms.

Educators were selected based on videos and written essays that addressed how they are creatively using digital technology and tools in the classroom to drive student achievement.

Kentucky’s 2016 PBS LearningMedia Lead Digital Innovator is James Wampler of Shelby County High School.

Digital Innovation is important in today’s classrooms because students need exposure to proper utilization of technology to connect them in relevant, engaging and information-rich ways to the real world that they live in,” said Wampler, who teaches 8th-grade science. “I’m really looking forward to meeting representatives from other states to see how they are using technology as a tool for student engagement and growth.”

Additionally, 17 Kentucky educators were identified as Local PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators, including 12 from public schools:

  • Jamie Chenault, Lakewood Elementary School (Hardin County)
  • Lori Corbin, Webster County High School
  • Savannah Denning, Lincoln Elementary School (Simpson County)
  • Kristie Ennis, Waggener High School (Jefferson County)
  • Carrie Gupton, Meade County High School
  • Justin Kirby, Adairville School (Logan County)
  • Amy Madsen, George Rogers Clark High School (Clark County)
  • Melissa Metcalf, Foley Middle School (Madison County)
  • Sam Northern, Simpson Elementary School (Simpson County)
  • Jessica Pass, Boone County High School
  • Jennie Watkins, Corbin Intermediate School (Corbin Independent)
  • Denise Webb, Pleasure Ridge Park High School (Jefferson County)

The PBS LearningMedia Digital Innovators will receive year-long professional development opportunities, a free PBS TeacherLine professional development course networking opportunities and ongoing support in their communities from KET.

In addition, the 52 Lead Digital Innovators will receive an all-expense paid trip to Denver to participate in the 2016 PBS LearningMedia Digital Summit and the International Society for Technology in Education conference.