Beshear appoints members to State Board of Education


Gov. Steve Beshear recently reappointed two members and named five new members to the Kentucky Board of Education.

The appointees are:

  • Jonathan Parrent, of Caldwell County, will represent the 1st Supreme Court District. He is the dean of student affairs at Madisonville Community College and works with regional high school students to improve college and career readiness.
  • William L. Twyman, of Barren County, will represent the 2nd Supreme Court District. He is a former educator and national Milken Educator award winner. He works with the consulting firm Educational Directions.
  • Roger L. Marcum, of Nelson County, will represent the 3rd Supreme Court District. He is a former principal, superintendent and national Milken Educator award winner. In 2006, he was named superintendent of the year by the Kentucky School Boards Association. He is the executive vice president of St. Catharine College in Springfield.
  • Mary Gwen Wheeler, of Jefferson County, will represent the 4th Supreme Court District. She is senior policy adviser on education and youth with the Louisville Metro Government. She is a member of the Jefferson County Public Education Foundation and the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence.
  • Martha M. Jones, of Boyd will represent the 7th Supreme Court District. She is a former social worker and continuing education counselor. She also previously worked with Friends of the Children, a non-profit organization in Ashland, to assist disadvantaged schoolchildren.

Beshear also reappointed C.B. Akins Sr. of Fayette County and Judith H. Gibbons of Kenton County.

The seven appointees’ terms expire April 14, 2014.