Commissioner Terry Holliday


The Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) recently named Education Commissioner Terry Holliday as one of nine new board of directors for 2010-11. All new board members and officers are chief state school officers and continue their tenures in their respective states while serving on CCSSO’s board.

“Our new leadership has a deep commitment to advancing the education reform agenda outlined by states,” said CCSSO Executive Director Gene Wilhoit. “During a time of incredible transition across the country chief state school officers are dedicated to providing the leadership necessary to reshape American public education.”

The other newly-named CCSSO Board of Directors members are:

  • President Christopher Koch, Superintendent of Education, Illinois
  • President-Elect Thomas Luna, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Idaho
  • President Pro Tem Michael Flanagan, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Michigan
  • Larry Shumway, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Utah
  • Deborah Delisle, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Ohio
  • David Steiner, Commissioner of Education, New York
  • Mitchell Chester, Commissioner of Education, Massachusetts
  • June Atkinson, Superintendent of Public Instruction, North Carolina

The CCSSO also named 10 Deputies Leadership Commission members. They are:

  • Tommy Bice, Deputy Superintendent of Education, Alabama
  • Ollie Tyler, Deputy Superintendent of Education, Louisiana
  • Kevin Fangman, Acting Director of Education, Iowa
  • Rae Ann Knopf, Deputy Commissioner, Vermont
  • Marilyn Troyer, Deputy Superintendent, Ohio
  • Gloria Dopf, Deputy Superintendent of Instruction, Nevada
  • Melody Schopp, Deputy Secretary of Education, South Dakota
  • Susie Morrison, Deputy Superintendent of Education, Illinois
  • Paul Leather, Deputy Commissioner, New Hampshire
  • Jorea Marple, Deputy Superintendent, West Virginia Ex-officio