Tom Blankenship, a member of the Lincoln County school board for 26 years, was elected Kentucky School Boards Association (KSBA) president during the association’s annual business meeting in February. Blankenship will serve through February 2013 as KSBA’s top officer and chairperson of both the association’s 27-member board of directors and its insurance programs’ board of trustees.

A retired educator, Blankenship worked as a teacher, principal and central office administrator in the Lincoln County school district. Prior to his election as president, he has served as a regional chairperson and a director-at-large on the KSBA board.

Durward Narramore, of Jenkins Independent school district, was elected to a two-year term as KSBA president-elect.

Narramore is the chief purchasing officer for the Red Onion State Prison in Pound, Va. An 18-year member of the Jenkins Independent school board, he has previously served as a regional chairperson and a director-at-large on the KSBA board from 1997 through 2011.

School board members elected the following representatives to serve three-year terms as directors-at-large on the KSBA board:

  • Ronnie Holmes, Graves County school district
  • William Owens, Lee County school district
  • Fern Reed, Montgomery County school district
  • David Webster, Simpson County school district
  • Phyllis Young, Scott County school district

The next quarterly meeting of the KSBA board is March 11 and 12 in Frankfort.