Former Fayette County and Daviess County school superintendent Stu Silberman recently was named as executive director of the Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence.

Silberman, who announced his retirement in February from Fayette County, is a three-time Kentucky Superintendent of the Year.

Silberman succeeds Robert Sexton, the committee’s founding executive director who died in August 2010. Silberman will assume the Prichard Committee position Sept. 1.

For more information, visit the Prichard Committee website.