Seven Kentucky public school districts were recognized Monday for achieving voluntary system accreditation through the AdvancED/Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) accreditation process.

The recognition ceremony occurred in the State Board Room on the first floor of the Capital Plaza Tower in Frankfort.

Kentucky Commissioner of Education Terry Holliday; Kentucky Board of Education Chair David Karem; Randy McCallon, chair of the Kentucky AdvancED/SACS State Council; and Tom Jones, AdvancED Kentucky director presented plaques and banners to district superintendents and board members.

 The seven school districts are:

  • Boone County (initial accreditation) 
  • Elizabethtown Independent (initial accreditation)
  • Graves County (initial accreditation)
  • Marshall County (initial accreditation) 
  • McCracken County (continuing accreditation)
  • Rowan County (continuing accreditation)
  • Williamstown Independent (initial accreditation)

Accreditation is a voluntary method of quality assurance that schools and districts may undertake. Candidates for accreditation conduct a self-assessment, host a site visit from a team of experienced peer educators and complete actions identified by the team. Accreditation status covers a five-year period, and schools and districts are encouraged to apply for continuing accreditation.

More information about voluntary accreditation is available at