Four Kentucky public high school students have been named to the Next-Generation Student Advisory Council, a group that provides input to Kentucky Commissioner of Education Terry Holliday.

The newly-selected members will serve for one year.

  • Vincent Cao – 11th grade, Paul Laurence Dunbar High, Fayette Co.
  • David Hormell – 11th grade, Martha Layne Collins High, Shelby Co.
  • Sarah Howard – 12th grade, Glasgow High, Glasgow Ind.
  • Guyron Spalding – 11th grade, Bardstown High, Bardstown Ind.

The four join seven returning members:

  • Iman Ali – 12th grade, Pikeville High, Pikeville Ind.
  • Morgan Casto – 11th grade, Russell High, Russell Ind.
  • Natalie Fahrbach – 12th grade, Louisville Male High, Jefferson Co.
  • Tiffany Parham – 11th grade, Murray High, Murray Ind.
  • Hunter Peay – 12th grade, Butler County High
  • Blair Walden – 12th grade, South Laurel High, Laurel Co.
  • Jake Walker – 12th grade, Henderson County High

The group will meet in Frankfort on Oct. 24. The purpose of the council is to provide valuable feedback from Kentucky students and to engage student leaders in learning by doing. This group will meet with the commissioner and Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) staff, both in person and virtually, to discuss how decisions made at the state level are affecting public school students throughout Kentucky and provide feedback — from a student perspective — on critical issues impacting Kentucky students and schools.

The Next-Generation Student Council is a year-long program for Kentucky public school students in grades 10-12. The council is comprised of a diverse group of students with refreshing ideas and thoughtful insight into how public schools and student achievement can be improved.