Gov. Steve Beshear recently made several appointments and reappointments to the Kentucky Early Childhood Advisory Council and the Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing.

New appointments to the Kentucky Early Childhood Advisory Council include:

  • Kevin L. Nix is director of early childhood education at Jefferson County school district. He represents Local Head Start. The appointment replaces Aubrey Nehring, whose term has expired. Nix shall serve for a term expiring June 30, 2017.
  • Julie Ashmun is a physician at Lexington OBGYN Associates. She represents citizens at large. The appointment replaces Lacey McNary, who has resigned. Ashmun shall serve for the remainder of the unexpired term ending June 30, 2015.

The governor also reappointed Education Commissioner Terry Holliday to the council. He also reappointed the following members to serve for terms expiring June 30, 2017:

  • Paula Goff is a program administrator for the Cabinet for Health and Family Services. She represents a state agency responsible for Part C of IDEA.
  • Amy Hood Hooten is an instructor at Western Kentucky University. She represents higher education.
  • Nicki Patton Rowe is a self-employed early childhood consultant based in Louisville. She represents Private Sector-Congressional District 3.

Additionally, Beshear appointed Jeannie Marie Taylor to the Commission on the Deaf and Hard of Hearing to serve a term expiring July 1, 2016. Taylor is a special education teacher with the Allen County school district. She represents the Kentucky Chapters of the Hearing Loss Association of America. The appointment replaces Rose M. Fenwick, whose term has expired.