Gov. Steve Beshear recently appointed two new members to the School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council to serve for terms expiring April 30, 2014:

 The new members include:

  • Jinger D. Carter, of Sturgis, is director of accountability and assessment for Henderson County Schools. She represents assessment coordinators. The appointment replaces Franklin B. Thomas, who has resigned.
  • William A. Owens, of Beattyville, is a minister and mission director at Kentucky Mountain Mission Inc., and is chairman of the Lee County Board of Education. He represents school board members. The appointment replaces Phyllis E. Young, who has resigned.

The council, which is mandated by KRS 158.6452,  advises the Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) on the design of the testing and accountability system.