The Kentucky Board of Education (KBE) and Kentucky Department of Education recognized three school districts as Districts of Distinction at the board’s meeting yesterday.

The districts earned the recognition under the second year of the Unbridled Learning: College and Career Readiness for All accountability system. To qualify as a District of Distinction, a district had to have an overall accountability score at the 95th percentile or higher (based on achievement, gap, growth, college and career readiness and graduation rate), meet its current year Annual Measurable Objective, a 95 percent participation rate, and not have a Focus or Priority School in the district. The achievement data is based on K-PREP testing in spring 2013.

The Districts of Distinction for the 2012-13 school year are:

• Russell Independent
• Science Hill Independent
• Walton-Verona Independent

This is the second year that Walton-Verona Independent has been recognized as a District of Distinction. It was also named as a District of Distinction in 2011-12. KBE Board Chair Roger Marcum and Education Commissioner Terry Holliday presented each district superintendent and local board of education chair with a recognition banner and letter of commendation. Each district will also receive a District of Distinction logo which it can display on its website, letterhead or use in other ways to promote its achievement.